Last week was my first week back at work after almost four months off to take care of our newest bundle of joy: 


I’ll be honest, being home that long with two kiddos was challenging for me. We were also potty training Jake and transitioning him to his own room, so there were lots of changes and challenges for all of us. As hard as it was at times, I’m thankful I had this time at home to spend with them. I’m gonna miss all of Jake’s daily antics and words of wisdom-he’s growing up so fast and it was nice to have long days to talk to him, show him how things work, and teach him new stuff. He turned three today and I just feel so privileged that I get to be his mom. 


Contrary to popular belief, I was pretty excited to go back to work. Mainly because I was starting to go stir crazy, but also because I know my kids are in the best care possible (grandparents and a very close friend) and because I love my job. Coworkers are excited that I’m back and that’s a pretty great feeling. I also get to work along an awesome supervisor this year without any limitations (I’m not hindered by my pregnancy and he has a better idea of what’s going on now that he’s got his first year down). I think it’s going to be a great year! 

One week in and I still find myself driving to or from work and wanting to point out when I see a dump truck or trash truck or a cement mixer. We also have some major construction projects going on at our work so it’s been fun to send Jake pictures and videos of what’s happening (even if the driver of the forklift freaked out when I was taking a video of him).

It’s also still strange to leave the house without any babies attached to me-you mean I can just get in and out of the car THAT quick?! It’s strange and awesome and magical. 

I’m hopeful that my blog content will increase now that there’s more of a personal balance, but I won’t make any promises (we all know better).  

My eyelids are getting heavier by the second so we’ll leave the catching up to that :)

