Tags

, ,

I saw this image on Facebook a while back, and found it to be incredibly powerful.

Ni-la-tierra-ni-las-mujeres-somos-territorio-de-conquista

“Neither the land nor women, are territory to conquer.”

The translation is difficult for me to make for it to make sense, but what I felt most powerful that doesn’t translate smoothly is that the quote takes on a possessive quality, the second part of the quote says “we are not territories to conquer.”  I think there’s something very powerful about a woman or the land making this statement, rather than just a blanket statement.  I am not a territory to conquer, I am a woman, I am my own, I own myself.  It also makes me sad that these things need to be said: why should a woman have to declare that she’s not to be conquered, if it’s not because people try to conquer her all the time?

