Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Our latest book club picks…

June: Wild, by Cheryl Strayed

I’m sure a lot of people have read this one.  I believe it’s going to be a movie soon, as well.  This book tells the story of one woman who hiked the Pacific Crest Trail all by herself (with some company here and there).  Although it was an interesting read, I’ll be honest and say it wasn’t one that grabbed my attention and didn’t let go.  I did finish reading it, and I was happy for the narrator, but not something that left a huge lasting impression.  Although it does make me want to go camping!

July/August: I know this much is trueby Wally Lamb

I LOVED this book, and just couldn’t put it down (and that’s that it’s very, very long). It tells the story of twin brothers, one of whom has some very serious mental issues, and the other brother who also has serious mental issues but doesn’t know about it.  It’s pretty heartbreaking and deals with very serious and tough issues (mental health, rape, suicide, child abuse, huge human character flaws, etc.), but in the end wraps it all up nicely with a pretty little bough–which I love in a book, but some fellow Literate Lushes did not like as much.

September: Chronicle of a Death Foretold, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

I’m pretty sure I read this book in AP Spanish Lit in high school, but had absolutely no recollection of it (probably like most of the books I read for school), so I’m glad I had a chance to read this again.  Unlike the book from last month, this book is super short and I read it in between breaks in a matter of a few days.  It’s interesting how the title and the whole book are leading you to this one event (the murder of the main character), and yet when I got to the end to read how it happened, I just couldn’t take it.  My heart and my stomach were a mess–to the point that I think I skimmed over a few lines just to get it over with.  I guess that means it was a good book, if you’ve grown to care for a character to that point in such a short amount of time!

Don’t forget: if you shop on Amazon for these books or ANYTHING else, please shop through smile.amazon.com and select Haiti Scholarships as your charity of choice!

