Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Summer break is over!  I can’t believe my six weeks off came and went.  And…I only posted two blogs, haha.  I’m not gonna lie, the idea of wanting to post all Summer long and not having or making the time to was a bit of a stresser!

Every day I’d say to myself, ok, tonight, after I get Jake to bed, I’m gonna jump on the computer and work on some blogs.  I have ideas on blog posts for this blog, for The Merry Ministers, for Nuestras Manos, and I’ve been wanting to update Jeff’s photography website as well.  Maybe that was my problem: overwhelming myself with blogs!

My grandiose idea of blogging early in the morning before Jake woke up quickly went out the window when I started staying up later after Jake went to bed, and subsequently sleeping in with him.  I will admit though, these were the best parts of my day: slowly waking up with Jake, and having him snuggle and cuddle with me was the best feeling ever.  He’s such a cuddle bug when he’s going to sleep and waking up!

To be honest, I don’t even know what we did most of the Summer.  The first couple weeks were spent just organizing stuff around the apartment, then I started working on decorations and ideas for Jake’s first birthday party (which is this Saturday, yipee!).

All sorts of DIY projects for Jake's birthday party

All sorts of DIY projects for Jake’s birthday party

In between, there was a lot of walking around the neighborhood to get him to take his naps, a lot of going to the grocery store for dinner, lots and lots of laundry and taking care of our backyard, and LOTS of picking up toys…all day, every damn day.

We did manage to have some fun, I just wish daddy would have been able to join us on our adventures!

photo 1

Learned to put food on our head while Jake's godmother visited us, and loved playing in the pool!

Learned to put food on our head while Jake’s godmother visited us, and loved playing in the pool!

 

photo 3 photo 5

Paid our first (free!) visit to LACMA with mommy's college friends, Dana and Ana

Paid our first (free!*) visit to LACMA with mommy’s college friends, Dana and Ana

tanaka tour strawberry

Went on a free wagon tour at Tanaka Farms in Irvine...so hot but Jake LOVED those fresh, super sweet strawberries :)

Went on a free wagon tour at Tanaka Farms in Irvine…so hot but Jake LOVED those fresh, super sweet strawberries :)

photo 3 (2)

Went to the petting zoo in San Juan Capistrano while cousin Brayden was visiting from Arizona

Went to the petting zoo in San Juan Capistrano while cousin Brayden was visiting from Arizona

I do have to admit that the first couple weeks were a little emotionally difficult for me.  I’m not sure if it was a delayed postpartum depression or just hormones that are still going crazy, but I really wasn’t myself.  I don’t know if it was just adjusting to hanging out with a baby all day and not interacting with adults (which can get difficult), or again getting used to not getting anything done that I wanted to get done.  It did give me some insight into how uncontrollable certain feelings can be (I knew I was being irrational about stuff, but I just couldn’t help feeling the way I was feeling), and how scary that can be.  So glad that only lasted a couple weeks.

Now it’s back to work, which our bank account is happy about, but I’m already missing my complete days with Jake and being able to keep the house picked up every day.  Did someone say Thanksgiving break?  :)

 

*LACMA is free for children 17 and under, and if you have a NexGen membership, it also allows you to get one adult in free with your child.  Then you only have to worry about the $12 for parking! Or…drive around and find metered parking.

