Tags

, , , , ,

I’m sure you’re all on pins and needles waiting to find out how the new job is going…ha!

Well, no more pins and needles for you!  The new job is actually great.  It started off a little slow, but it’s definitely picked up and been the perfect balance of familiarity and challenge (I’m doing something I feel that I’m good at, but also being challenged).  The people I work with are great–everyone has been really nice and helpful, and it made my transition from St. Nicholas a little easier knowing that I was coming in to another welcoming work “family.”  One of my co-workers even invited Jake and I to meet her baby at the stables in San Juan Capistrano:

horse

Last week and up to tomorrow I’m actually covering for our office manager who is on vacation, so it’s been interesting to do my own job plus some of the responsibilities for the office manager.  I’ve been going in early and staying late, and running around frantically trying to figure everything out (I’ve had to rely on a lot of people and they’ve all been amazingly helpful).  It’s definitely been a challenging, hectic, and tiring week, but it’s also been really nice to realize that I can handle it, and even more: that I enjoy doing it.  It’s so nice to be in a  job where I like what I do and where people recognize and appreciate my skills and talents.

I will admit that I miss Gwen a lot and some aspects of my old job.  April 1st would’ve been my one-year anniversary at St. Nicholas.  Last year, that date happened to fall on the Monday after Easter Sunday.  For us Catholics, that’s a pretty memorable date, so with Easter just behind us, that job has been on my mind quite a bit lately.  I know this was a good move for me, but I still miss Gwen and our little office, saying “but what do we know?” every time we think something should be done differently.

Today I went back to St. Nicholas to help with First Holy Communion rehearsal, and it was so nice to see some of the families that I had interacted with before.  One of them asked about Jake, one kid recognized me from my current work, since that’s where she goes to school.  When I was on my way to the rehearsal I was wondering if it would be awkward since I haven’t been around at all, but it was like picking up the phone with one of those really good friends–where you can pick up the conversation right where you left off even if you haven’t talked in several months.  I strolled right in to my old comfort zone and was checking in students and answering questions, translating for families, and helping out.

Maybe some day I’ll be able to commit myself to being a volunteer teacher at the church, and that way be able to stay involved a little more.  But for now, I’m happy to still help out where I can, and I’m thrilled about where I am with my job.  I know it’s just the beginning, and I’m excited to see where this path leads me!

