Tags

, , , , ,

church plant

See this little plant?  It’s a leftover from the flowers bought to decorate the church altar for Thanksgiving.  I don’t know what happened to the rest of them, but I was able to shift this one around and prevent it from getting thrown out (I think they were just waiting for it to die on it’s own before they threw it out..little did they know I kept watering it!).  I know it doesn’t look like much now, but when it was in bloom it was really beautiful.  I’m trying to see how long I can keep it alive.

See, Jeff and I haven’t been the best at keeping plants alive.  The longest plant we had was a Lady Palm that we named Bui.  We didn’t even know it was called a Lady Palm until we murdered it.  I mean, cold-blooded, completely-forgot-to-water-it-in-the-middle-of-a-heat-wave, murdered it.  And that’s that we loved it.  When we discovered that we had killed it, I had some serious doubts about our ability to care for the child that was in my belly at the time.  I also had some intense feelings of grief.   I know, I know, it was just a plant.  But it was our only surviving plant from when we lived in our apartment, and she was truly beautiful!  We did some internet searching to figure out what kind of plant she was, and finally found her at a local nursery, where we also found out how expensive she was.  That’s when I really wanted to kick myself in the ass for killing her.  We won’t be able to buy a new Lady Palm until we both get a raise.

But I digress.  The point is, I’m not the best at keeping things alive.  I definitely didn’t get my mother’s green thumb (have I every told you about the time we helped my mom move and filled up a whole U-Haul truck just with her plants?  No? So this one time my mom was moving and we filled up a whole U-Haul truck just with her plants.  That’s it).  Sorry, I’m feeling rambly tonight.

So, I don’t have much hope for this little guy, or gal, but I sure am giving it my best!  I’ve already trimmed all the dead stuff off, gave it a good cleaning, and so far managed to keep it alive for a couple months.  I’ve even moved it around a few times trying to figure out the best location for sun bathing.

Let’s hope it doesn’t join Bui anytime soon.

Any suggestions on what I should name it?  Or will that just make the loss more difficult?

