Tags

, , , ,

Here’s a list of books that’s on my “to read” list, but that I probably won’t read for a long time.  If any of you do or have read them, please let me know what you think so I can prioritize my list :)

The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism, by Naoki Higashida.  I heard about this book on The Daily Show, and Jon Stewart just couldn’t say enough about how great this book is.  It piqued my interest.

Julie Andrews’ Collection of Poems, Songs & Lullabies, by Julie Andrews and her daughter, Emma Walton Hamilton.  I came across this while looking at some of Julie Andrews’ other children books, but they’re all for girls…I think this might be more up Jake’s alley :)  Reviews look awesome!

julie andrews

In the Company of the Poor: Conversations with Dr. Paul Farmer and Fr. Gustavo Gutierrez, by Paul Farmer, Gustavo Gutierrez, and Michael Griffin.  This is the uber nerd in me, but also one of those books that will probably be at the bottom of my list for a while.

Paddle Your Own Canoe: One Man’s Fundamentals for Delicious Living, by Nick Offerman.  Ron Swanson.  Need I say more?

paddle your canoe

The Sugar Barons: Family, Corruption, Empire, and War in the West Indies, by Matthew Parker.  A few years ago I read Bananas: How the United Fruit Company Shaped the World.  It was a short read, but really interesting and enlightening.  I figure the history of sugar must be just as interesting.

Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Wolf.  Why not throw in a kind of classic in there?

Sam the Cooking Guy: Just a Bunch of Recipes, by Sam Zien.  Back when Jeff and I had our apartment, and basic cable, we were limited to about five channels.  One of which had Sam the Cooking Guy.  Jeff and I love watching his show, and this is definitely a cook book I want to add to my kitchen collection.  Even if I use it as sparingly as my other cook books…

cooking guy

