Tags

, , , , , ,

Baby shower’s have come and gone now, but I wanted to share with everyone the hard work that every member of the family put into these events.

I’ll start with grandpa.

For our cowboy themed baby shower (we had two showers–one that was ladies only and included most of our family, neighbors, co-workers, etc., and another one that was co-ed with our friends), I wanted something that people could put their envelopes in.  I’ve always liked this idea of providing a specific area for envelopes so they don’t end up all over the gift table, and then you don’t know if they belong to the gift next to it or not.

So I googled cowboy mail boxes or something to that effect, (did cowboy’s have or need mailboxes?  Probably not, but I searched it anyway), and found something I liked.  I showed the picture to dad (aka, Jake’s grandpa), and he said “sure, no problem.”

“No problem” is an understatement.  Check out what he made:

jake memory box 2 jake memory box 1

Needless to say, it was perfect!

Next up, I asked if he could come up with a rocking horse.  I looked around at buying one, but couldn’t find one that a) I liked, and b) I liked and wasn’t ridiculously priced.  So I asked dad, and thankfully he was up for it!

At first we were going to use it for a game, and although we didn’t end up using it for that purpose, I’m so happy it exists.  It’s gorgeous and I can’t wait to see where this rocking horse goes in the next few decades :)  I really feel that it’s one of those things that we’ll keep for years and years, and maybe Jake will pass down to his kids.  It’s exciting to see the beginning of something that has so much potential for future stories and adventures.

So between these two beauties, Jeff’s signs, and my banner, our gift area looked pretty awesome:

JCA_9177Not bad, huh?  Oh, and that’s Valentina in the left corner, probably Jake’s future girlfriend or at least best friend :)

