Tags

, , , ,

I realized recently that it’s been a while since I baked or fixed a dessert for a special occasion, so this Fourth of July I decided to make something I’ve been wanting to make for a long time now: PEACH COBBLER!

My obsession started when I fell in love with the Peach Cobbler from Lucille’s BBQ.  Since then I’ve wanted to make a good, made from scratch, peach cobbler.  I settled on this recipe yesterday, and I’m very happy with my decision.  I think the topping on the Lucille’s peach cobbler might have been a bit sweeter somehow, but that could also be my imagination just taking flight (it’s been a while since I’ve had it there).

I didn’t make many changes* to the original recipe, so you can follow the link for ingredients and instructions, but I’m posting some pictures below of the process.

*I did follow the advice of one commentator on how to peel the peaches since mine were a little hard (I would recommend buying them a few days or a week in advance so they have time to ripen, and then maybe you can avoid this whole process and peel them much more easily without having to do all of the following).  I’ve never “blanched” anything before, but thankfully my mom was around to give me a hand.  Basically, get a pot full of water to boil, place the peaches in there for a minute (instructions didn’t say if I should leave the heat on during this process or turn it off, I went with turning it off), take them out of the boiling water and then plunge them in cold water, after which the skins should come right off.  This worked great for 6 of the 8 peaches we had, the last two were a bit stubborn about shedding their skins…

Slicing the peaches after they've been peeled (instructions called for thin slices, everyone advised to do thicker slices which is what I went with).

Slicing the peaches after they’ve been peeled (*instructions called for thin slices, but everyone advised to do thicker slices which is what I went with).

Yep, that's my baby belly.

Yep, that’s my baby belly.

First phase of baking...

First phase of baking… (the peaches I bought were pretty large, so one 8×8 pan just didn’t seem big enough.  I’m glad we put the extra in another dish, otherwise the whole thing would have overflowed once we added the breading & topping).

It already looks good!  This is after just ten minutes in the oven.

It already looks good! This is after just ten minutes in the oven.

Preparing the breading and topping.

Preparing the breading and topping.

My mom adding the cinnamon sugar topping after I've added spoonfuls of the breading

My mom adding the cinnamon sugar topping after I’ve added spoonfuls of the breading

Finished product: DELICIOUS!

Finished product: DELICIOUS!

I went ahead and paired this with Breyers Homemade Vanilla ice-cream.  SOOO GOOD!

