Tags

, , , ,

I’ve made this recipe several times with fabulous results, so I figured it was time I shared it!

I wish I could give credit to wherever I got it from, but I forget.  I’m pretty sure it was on allrecipes.com.  I also have no pictures because it’s a bit of a hectic and messy process, so the thought of taking pictures while I’m making these just never really crosses my mind.

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 breast halves*
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1/2 pint of sour cream (aka, 1 cup)
  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese (more is always better in the cheese department, if you ask me)
  • 1 tbl. dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 (15 oz) can tomato sauce (or smaller can of tomato paste)
  • 1 tbl. chili powder
  • 1/3 cup chopped green bell pepper
  • 1 clove minced garlic (I use the pre-minced garlic, works like a charm)
  • Corn tortillas (original recipe calls for flour tortillas, I always use corn)
  • 1 (19 oz or larger) can taco sauce.  I use Las Palmas, medium spicy (we used spicy ones, and they were pretty spicy, even for Jeff).  I would get a larger can if you really like your enchiladas drenched in sauce.  This is barely enough to cover them evenly.

INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In medium, non-stick skillet, over medium heat, cook chicken until no longer pink and juice runs clear.  Drain, cube, and return to skillet.  *I always use leftover chicken from a previous meal, such as chicken soup or a rotisserie chicken.  I think this works great and gives the chicken a much better flavor, although the amount of enchiladas will vary depending on how much chicken is left over.
  3. Throw in a little bit of olive oil with the chicken, toss in the onion, bell peppers and garlic, and let that cook on low heat until the bell peppers start softening up a bit.  I used to just toss everything in together, but noticed that the bell peppers were always a little too hard, so I started doing this first and it works great–peppers come out soft and delicious!
  4. Add sour cream, cheddar cheese, parsley, oregano and pepper.  Heat until the cheese melts; stir in salt, sauce, chili, and pepper.  It starts smelling delicious right about now.  Turn off heat.
  5. Warm up tortillas so they don’t fall apart or crack when you roll them.  I do this by tossing them in the microwave for a few seconds.
  6. Get a large dinner dish and pour some of the enchilada sauce on it, just enough so you can dip your tortillas in before adding chicken mixture.  Also pour some enchilada sauce on the bottom of your baking dish for a little extra flavor.
  7. Dip tortilla in sauce, covering both sides, then spoon even amounts of mixture on tortilla, roll, and arrange on 9×13 inch baking dish.  I usually end up using one 9×13 dish and then an 8×8 or 9×9 for a few extra enchiladas (they make amazing leftovers!).
  8. Cover all your enchiladas with taco sauce (otherwise they might get a little crusty in the oven), then cover with the remaining cheddar cheese.
  9. Bake uncovered for 20 minutes.

When using leftover chicken, this usually turns out 18-20 enchiladas.

Buen provecho!

