Tags

, ,

Back in November, 2011, I wrote a blog about certain things I wanted to accomplish before I turned 30.  I’ve been putting this off mostly because it’s a little embarrassing how many things I didn’t accomplish (although the attorney in me will try to reason every single one of those failures into a success anyway), but I figure I owe it to be accountable either way.

So, here we go:

1. First and foremost, I want to be settled into a job. No more uncertainty of what I’m doing…whether it’s working somewhere, or working on my own, I want it to be legit, I want to be able to get pregnant if we decide we’re ready, I want to have health insurance, I want to feel financially….hmmm….not-on-the-verge-of-being-broke? I know this is a lot for #1, but I think they all are part of one big package.

Weeeeeeeell, I’m still having some ups and downs on that one, but I do think I’m gonna turn it around this year!  So, maybe while I’m thirty I’ll accomplish this one.

2. Travel. There are too many places I want to go to: Germany (Mike, Uli & Hank!), Spain (Isa!), Hawaii (again, self-explanatory, but I want to be consistent with the parenthesis), Guatemala (grandma), Haiti (self explanatory). I’m not expecting all of these to happen before I turn 30. I’d be happy with one or two.

ACCOMPLISHED!  I only made it to one of these places, but that’s really all I was shooting for anyway, so this one I can confidently cross off the list.

Jeff and I biking in the English Garden in Munich, Germany.

Jeff and I biking in the English Garden in Munich, Germany.

3. Become serious about some sort of work out: whether it be walking/hiking, or picking up rock climbing again, which I miss doing.
Well, that’s just a failure anyway I look at it, no legal rationalizing out of this one.  I’ve had more down time in the last year that I’d care to admit, and yet I’m still too lazy to go for a walk or a run every day.  I’m not sure why.  The only thing that comes to mind is that I really do better at time management and doing stuff when I have too much on my plate than when I don’t have anything on my plate.  Weird.

4. Develop my blog. This includes moving to WordPress, as well as figuring out how to make Adsense make me more money. I think since I started blogging two years ago (almost exactly!), I’ve made about $12 bucks. I’m not saying I’m not happy with my earnings…but I’m also not saying I wouldn’t mind more. I just need to figure out how to do that without changing what I write about or plastering my blog with ads.

This was half an accomplishment, since I did move my blog to WordPress! However, I never got around to making more money off this blog, which is fine.  I think my priorities in this have shifted a little, since I’m trying to find an actual job instead of trying to become a real blogger ;)

5. Develop Jeff’s art: portfolio, more art shows, website, you name it.

Again, I’d say half success on this one.  We did get his website going, and we’ve worked a few weddings since my original blog post on this, plus, we’ve been doing the Art Walk at The Camp for the last three months, and we’ve done a few other shows before that.  The reason I still give this a half success is because I think there’s a lot more I could’ve done on this front, BUT, I do think we’ve had some big accomplishments either say :)

6. Earn my blue shirt from Corazon

Nope.  Not even close.  Although I did work very hard on our annual Meeting and Fundraiser, I didn’t do nearly enough to reach the blue shirt status.  With baby on the way, I don’t see me going on any house builds anytime soon either, so this one will have to be on the back burner for a bit!

7. Make it to Arizona to Visit Courtney

HUGE SUCCESS!  Jeff and I went out there last May for her wedding.  We got to see their new home and dog, catch up, and then I got to officiate their wedding.  It was awesome!

court n rich

8. Develop Haiti Scholarships into a successful nonprofit

I guess this one depends on your measure of success.  We did finally obtain our 501(c) certification, which was HUGE. But there are still a lot of things I want to work on to make it run nice and smooth.  On the plus side, we did offer the greatest number of scholarships yet this year, so again, HUGE.  I guess my worry is sustainability, and because of that I don’t think I’ve quite reached the point I’d like to reach.  But, it’s all a work in progress, and as long as we’re moving forward and not backward, I’m pretty happy about this one.

9. Jump out of a plane.

Nope, not even close.

10. Go camping.

Another absolute failure.  For someone who went camping on her honeymoon, I can’t believe it’s been over two years since we’ve been camping.  I honestly think about being at our campsite in Bishop or Yosemite at least once a week (no, I’m not kidding).  What IS exciting, however, is thinking of adding a little boy into those imaginary pictures, and making that a reality someday soon-ish.

11. Go wine tasting.

SUCCESS!!  Phew, it was starting to get depressing, wasn’t it? ;)  This one is briefly catalogued in my 2012 wrap up blog.  Suffice it to say: mission accomplished.

Wine tasting at Wilson Creek Winery in Temecula, CA.

Wine tasting at Wilson Creek Winery in Temecula, CA.

12. Eat healthier, regularly.

Another big failure.  Another one that is mostly due to my being lazy.  Being at the store now makes that a little more difficult, but still not impossible.  Plus that’s only been since October, so there’s really no excuse.  I just have trouble thinking outside my usual “recipe box,” that I just throw in the towel.  Not to mention that Jeff’s parents cook most of the time, and that’s just too convenient to turn down!

13. Travel to Portland or Seattle

Again, negative.  But I do feel like this WILL happen.  Some day.

14. Learn to say no, when necessary.

I think this has been a success.  I haven’t had as much going on lately that would necessitate me saying no, but I have been much, much better about thinking things through before just going for it.

15. Have a romantic getaway weekend with Jeff.

Again, another half success. We did go to San Francisco at the beginning of July for a friend’s wedding.  Although I wouldn’t term this a “romantic” getaway since we spent most of the time with friends, I would call it a getaway, and we did have a very nice time.  We also did some exploring on our own and had a great time, so in that sense: SUCCESS!

Exploring Point Reyes

Exploring Point Reyes

So if I’ve learned one thing from this little exercise: be realistic when making your list! Or…be more determined to accomplish them :)

