Well, lots of stuff going on lately.  Most importantly, Jeff and I are both adding new titles to our resumes: parents!  Yup, we finally decided to take the plunge, so here we are, two and a half months preggers :)

We’re excited to be over with the first trimester, but things seem to be going well so far.   Our little one is due August 18, 2013, and it just seems so far away!

This is how we made the announcement to our parents on Christmas!

This is how we made the announcement to our parents on Christmas!

With that in mind, we’ve been thinking long and hard about what we need to do to finally get some financial stability in our lives.  As much as we’ve enjoyed getting Nuestras Manos going, now with a baby in mind it just doesn’t seem like the best idea ever, haha.  When we were thinking of purchasing the business, it was easy for us to think we could bring a baby to work (since we owned the place and all), and it would be perfect.  Thinking about it realistically, there’s no way I could take our baby to the shop for 6-8 hours a day!  There’s no crib, changing area, food, etc.

The other issue we’ve had with the shop is trying to increase our profit.  We haven’t operated at a loss yet, but definitely not making enough money to support either one of us (much less three of us), and it takes upa lot of time.  I know we could make more money if we were able to invest more in what we sold, but that’s hard to do when you don’t have the money to invest in the first place, haha.

So, it seems that we’re back at square one.  The other day I also started thinking about why I’m trying so hard to do an “alternative career,” and not get stuck in a 9-5 cubicle job.  Sure, having the liberty of doing your own thing is nice, but as much as people may be jealous about my independence, I’m really jealous of people’s financial stability and their ability to buy a home and make payments on their loans (or take a vacation and actually have paid time off).  So I asked myself: is it really so bad to work a regular job if I can get all the perks I want?  Health insurance, a 401(k) (that’s how you know you’re a real adult, right?), paid time off, paid holidays, etc.  I’m starting to think that the answer is no.

Which reminds me of a blog I wrote almost three years ago:

My question when I see folks who are older than me is: what was it like when they each realized they weren’t going to get exactly where they wanted to go? I’m assuming we each have a time in our lives where we start realizing that the realities of life get in the way of the ideals you wanted to pursue, and you start to adjust to those new realities.

I think I’ve reached that point.  So, I’m trying to wrap up the contract work that I have, and start focusing again on finding a full time job–but one with no shady bosses, and one that has potential for the long haul.  I’m not sure how it’ll go down when I say “oh and by the way, I’m three months pregnant.” but I guess we’ll worry about that when we get there!

 

