So, it would seem that it’s been a while since I’ve blogged, my apologies.

To be honest, things got so hectic after we got back that I haven’t tried to make time to write “for fun.” I keep having this nagging feeling in the back of my mind, saying “you need to update your blog, you need to do this, you need to do that…”

As anyone with a mom knows, nagging doesn’t lead to productivity. It may lead to dragging feet and eventually completion of a task, but usually while giving a nasty look towards your mother’s back (I NEVER did that). So recently blogging has seemed like more of a chore than a joy, and for that reason I decided to wait until I really WANTED to write.

So here I am. :)

Since I last gave an update here, things for Jeff and I have changed just a little bit. No house or babies, but kind of a big career changer. We came across a wonderful opportunity, and decided to jump on it no matter how crazy or stupid or irrational it seemed. You can read all about it here.

So yeah, we’re business owners! How’s that for a new title? ;) As crazy as it sounds, it’s quite a perfect fit for us. We’ve both been able to put our best skills and talents to use. Jeff is super handy, artsy, crafty, and just effen talented. To that end, he’s supplying our our shop with amazing wood prints and art, and creating some amazing signage and what not. He added an awesome little design touch to the exterior of our camper, which looks beautiful, he designed a large sign that has helped attract customers that would otherwise just walk by, and most recently he hand cut every single one of the letters of our store name, including sanding and fine running, and we hope to get those on the camper tomorrow. It’s everything he was absolutely made to do, and he enjoyed doing it–which is the greatest part.

As for me, I’ve never been a huge shopper, but I’m finding that I’m quite good at shopping for our store. I absolutely love the adventure of finding new and exciting items to add to our shop. My years of customer service from working at Starbucks and as a receptionist are coming in handy with all of our clients, and unless I’m starving I absolutely love interacting and getting to know them all. My organizational skills have been useful in keeping track of sales and what not, and my legal skills….well, I have those around, haha.

I haven’t completely given up on the law thing, but it’s definitely shrinking as I find stuff that I enjoy doing more, and that Jeff and I can do together. It’s been an INSANELY busy month, but we’ve loved every part of it and find everything to be really exciting so far.

I’ll try to start blogging regularly again, including the Charity of the Month section. I haven’t had time to compile a new Holiday Shopping Guide, but it’ll just include additions to last years, so feel free to check that one out of you’re already looking for inspiration.

Thanks for sticking around :)

