…and most of them aren’t mine! To give credit where credit is due, the title is mostly inspired by Jimmy sharing this yesterday, which I found pretty amusing (at least the first few pages, then I just stopped reading).

Jeff and I were enjoying a warm evening outside, swinging on the front porch swing, talking about what we want to do with our lives, making big castles in the sky and talking about what we don’t like about what we’re currently doing.  I blurted something out about not wanting to worry about other people’s problems, and then we moved on to talk about how badly we want to go camping.

Although I hadn’t given it any thought before I blurted it out, I couldn’t stop thinking about what I had said, and how incredibly correct that statement is.  I realize that my job (the attorney part of it) revolves around solving other people’s problems (duh). Being that I like to keep conflict in my own personal life to a minimum, almost non-existant, it’s easy to see why dealing with other people’s conflicts proves a little tedious for me.

(“Then why did you become an attorney?”  That’s a really good question).

I want to focus on my own personal priorities, whether it’s promoting Jeff’s and my new business ventures, developing Haiti Scholarships, working with the mediation clinic more, etc., rather then stressing out about someone else’s stressful situations.  Almost all areas of law that attorney’s are hired for revolve some level of conflict. Family law is even more so, especially with the weight that these problems carry: whether someone will have access or not to their children might be in your hands. That’s a level of stress that I don’t want to deal with for the rest of my life.  Some day I’ll have kids of my own to worry about, and I want them to be my priority.

Why am I writing this? I’m not sure.  I just felt like a light bulb went off when I realized why being an attorney was so frustrating to me. I like knowing the why.

