I’ve been looking for new heels for what feels like ages. I don’t consider myself an especially picky person, except maybe food (mushrooms, olives, sausage, seafood….). But I’ll be the first to agree that I’m extremely picky when it comes to buying the right heels.

I’m a one-pair-of-heels girl. I don’t have a plethora of heels to match different outfits (mostly because I lack the money and fashion sense to make this happen). This means I have one pair of black heels that I use for all official business. I actually tried owning a pair of brown heels–I can’t remember the last time I pulled them out of their box to wear them.

Since I only have the one pair, they have to be perfect. This means:

  • Heel: the heel must be the perfect length. I don’t do stilettos, but they also can’t be granny heels. This means there’s a very thin line in between, and believe me, there aren’t many of them.
  • Style: I don’t want heels with platforms, lace, bows, etc. I’m also not going clubbing, I’m going to a courtroom. I want plain, sleek, professional looking heels.

Aside from that, I feel like I’m trying to convey a lot with the heels I pick: will I be taken seriously in these? Do the shiny ones make me look like a five year old wearing ruffled socks? In a male dominated environment, that’s not the image I want to convey. Can I pull them off? Can I feel confident when I wear them or will I be more concerned about putting one foot front in front of the other than listening to a client?

As picky as I am, I’ve had a couple close finds. Every time I find a pair that fits my requirements, they never have my size. For example, yesterday I went to Nordstrom Rack and found nothing. Then I went to Macy’s and found nothing. I decided to try JC Penny and found a pair I liked. I asked for an 8 1/2 and 9, and both were too big. I then asked for an 8. Of course, they didn’t have a size 8.

I tried again later last night with Jeff. We walked through DSW and I explained to Jeff why every single pair of black heels in that store didn’t meet my requirements.

Then we tried the Macy’s at South Coast. I immediately found a beautiful pair of elegant and perfect black heels. I turned them over to look at the price tag, and quickly set them down and walked away. $150.00. Way more than I care to spend on a pair of heels. Oh did I mention I also have a price range? I’m not willing to pay more than $70.00. I can hear all you women laughing out loud right now. Unrealistic, maybe. Difficult, definitely. Impossible? Maaaaaybe.

Anyhow, we kept looking around and I found another pair I liked. I again asked for an 8 1/2 and 9. Wouldn’t you know, they don’t make that style in an 8 1/2. I knew at that moment that was my perfect size in those shoes. But I asked to try on an 8 and a 9 anyway.

Tried on the size 8 and my toes were bulging out from the shoes. Then I tried on the size 9’s, and wouldn’t you know, my index finger fit in the extra space.

I guess until I find that perfect pair, my holey and hazardous heels will just have to keep making an appearance!

